2017 Annual Meeting Recap

The 2017 OGCSA Annual Meeting was held at the Willamette Valley Country Club on Tuesday, May 23rd. The day started with our annual OGCSA business meeting. OGCSA President Chuck Wolsborn called the meeting to order and presented the 2016 meeting minutes for approval. Committee reports followed with Chuck giving a president’s report on the 2016-2017 board year and reported on financials. Vice President, Scott Larsen gave a golf committee report. There was no old business addressed and under new business the membership voted on and passed the by-law amendment to change the Class SM membership to Class B membership. The results of the 2017-2018 board elections were announced and are as follows:

President: Chuck Wolsborn, Gresham Golf Course

Vice President: Darrell Fields, Meriwether National Golf Club

Directors: Kathy Hauff, Eastmoreland Golf Course; Jeff Komer, Chinook Winds Casino & Resort; and Shane Hadwick, Orchard Hills Golf & Resort (2-year term)

Director: Rory Allison, River Ridge Golf Complex (1-year term)

Affiliate Director: Bill Franzke, Western Equipment (2-year term)

Affiliate Director: Mark Willcut, RainBird (1-year term)

2017-2018 OGCSA Board of Directors
Left to Right: Bill Franzke, Jeff Komer, Gabe Hughes, Kathy Hauff, Chuck Wolsborn, Rory Allison, Darrell Fields, Shane Hadwick, & Jeff Wilson. Not pictured: William Barnes, & Mark Willcut

Recognition of outgoing board members for their service concluded the meeting with Chuck Wolsborn presenting Vice President, Scott Larsen, with his Board Service commemoration picture. Outgoing Affiliate board member, Brent Radford, was also recognized with a commemoration picture, but was not in attendance to receive it.

After a short morning break the keynote speaker, Chris Tritabaugh, Superintendent at Hazeltine National Golf Club took us through the incredible journey of his experience hosting the 2016 Ryder Cup Championships.

Concluding the meeting was the awards and scholarship ceremony. The Superintendent of the year award was presented by Chuck Wolsborn, the 2017 recipient of this award was Scott Larsen- Emerald Valley Golf and Resort.

Scott Larsen & Chuck Wolsborn

Next the Assistant Superintendent of the year award was presented by Scott Larsen, the 2017 recipient of this award was Kyle Bernards- Gresham Golf Course.

Kyle Bernards & Scott Larsen

The highlight of the day was ‘hands down’ the induction of longtime OGCSA member Superintendent, Robert ‘Bob’ Senseman to the OGCSA Hall of Fame. Scott Larsen presented this award with the addition of short speeches from: Russ Vandehey, Stan Presley, Rod Nelson, Gordon Kioyokawa, and Tom Cook.  This was a moving and entertaining tribute to Bob and his career and service to the industry. Congratulations Bob!

Bob Senseman & Russ Vandehey

Scholarship awards followed with Darrell Fields presenting the OGCSA ($1500.00) scholarship to OSU undergrad student Derrick Steele. The Oregon Turfgrass Foundation Board members presented the Bill Martin Memorial Scholarship ($2,000.00) to OSU student Evan McFadden and the Norm Whitworth Memorial Scholarship ($7,500.00) to OSU Masters student, Conner Olsen.  All were outstanding choices based on qualifications that are required to be awarded these scholarships.

The Oregon Turfgrass Foundation Board members: Gordon Kiyokawa, Rod Nelson, Bob Senseman, Russ Vandehey, David Phipps, Barb Trammell, CEO Oregon Golf Association and Chuck Wolsborn presented Alec Kowalewski, Ph.D. and Brian McDonald with a check for $50,000 to the OSU Foundation for the Turf Technician Fund. This concluded the meeting portion of the day.

Alec Kowalewski & Brian McDonald

After the meeting, Jeff Komer, organized several members for a fun afternoon of golf. Thank you, Jeff!!!! Winners of the 9-hole competition were:

  • 1st Net & Gross – Tyler Gabriel, Stone Creek Golf Club
  • 2 Net – Rod Nelson, Wilbur Ellis Company
  • 2 Gross – Chris Kendall, General Tree Service
  • KP – Adam Vidourek, Arrowhead Golf Club

Once again thank you to Willamette Valley CC staff and Superintendent Larry Raschko for hosting us!!!