2016 Annual Meeting Recap

The OGCSA Annual Meeting was held at the Willamette Valley Country Club on Wednesday 25th. The day was started with speaker Jack Holpuch, Associate Director of Development in the College of Agricultural Sciences for OSU Foundation. Jack gave a historical overview on how the OSU professor endowment was created and how Brian McDonalds Turf Technician position is funded in part by the Oregon Turfgrass Foundation with support from the OGCSA and OGA. OSU Turf Technician, Brian McDonald followed with a report on his research trials. OGCSA Executive Director, Alexis Wenker rounded out the morning program with a short presentation of the what’s to come when the new OGCSA website is launched. After the morning break, keynote speaker, Pete Grass, CGCS and GCSAA President presented updates on GCSAA activities including, by-law changes, EIFG, and member statistic. He also spoke candidly about the value of being a member of your national and local golf course superintendent’s associations.

The Annual meeting portion ended the day’s program. OGCSA President Richard Jensen called the meeting to order and talked about the events of the 2015-16 board year and reported on financials.

Gordon Kiyokawa, CGCS, President of the OTF, along with Barb Trammell, CEO Oregon Golf Association, and Richard Jensen presented Dr. Kowalewski and Brain McDonald with a check for $50,000 which is the 4th installment of the 5-year pledge to the OSU Foundation for the Turf Technician Fund.

Awards followed, Richard presented Retired OGCSA Executive Director Linda Whitworth with a framed picture plaque for her 8 years of service and a gift to Bandon Dunes from the Association. Mike Turner, CGCS Presented the Superintendent of the year award to James Skinner of Harbor Links Golf Course. Russ Vandehey, CGCS presented the induction of the late Walter Mattison CGCS to the OGCSA Hall of Fame. Walter family was present to receive the award on his behalf.

Mike Turner, CGCS, announced the 2016 OTF and OGCSA scholarship next. The Bill Martin Memorial Scholarship ($2,000.00) to OSU student Evan McFadden. The Norm Whitworth Memorial Scholarship ($5,000.00) to OSU Ph.D. candidate Clint Mattox. And the OGCSA Scholarship ($1500.00) to graduate student Micah Gould. All were outstanding choices based on qualifications that are required to be awarded these scholarships.

Election results were announced by Richard:

2016-17 President: Chuck Wolsborn

2016-17 Vice President: Scott Larsen

New Directors: Gabe Hughes and William Barnes (2-year term)

Affiliate Director: Brent Radford (2-year term)

Outgoing President, Richard Jensen, was presented with his President’s Plaque and Past Presidents pin by new President Chuck Wolsborn and outgoing board member, Russ Vandehey CGCS, was given a thank-you plaque and board service pin.

After the meeting, Brent Radford, organized several members for a fun afternoon of golf. Thank you Brent!!!! Winners of the 9-hole competition were:

  • Low Net Team winner with a 71: Royal Oaks: Alan Nielsen, Craig Liddle, Kurt Johnsen, and Joe Leland
  • Low Gross Team winner with a 79: Adam Vidourek, Justin Horlacher, Stan Presley, & Tony Lasher
  • KP: Jeff Stephenson, Tokatee GC
  • Monkey Ball winner: Black Butte Guys & Pat Doran

Once again thank you to Willamette Valley CC staff and Superintendent Larry Raschko for hosting us.